Sarah Tew Photography


Josh & Karen’s intimate SoHo wedding
April 25, 2012, 8:18 pm
Filed under: Wedding Day, Weddings

Josh & Karen planned a beautiful and intimate wedding in the later stages of Karen’s pregnancy with their baby.  These two are so beautiful and sweet together, I can only imagine what a cool kid they are going to raise!  Josh is a successful actor (he played the adult “Simba” in The Lion King on Broadway for a spell!) and Karen is just the most sweet and upbeat people I’ve met in sometime, so I knew their creativity and warmth would be evident in the wedding day, and boy was I right!  The couple got ready at The Mondrian Hotel in SoHo, and were particularly excited for me to shoot their first look and couple portraits around the lobby and patios there…  What an awesome location for photography!  I was like a kid in a candy store– so many colorful backdrops and areas to shoot, I could have shot them there for another hour easily!   Of course we had a ceremony to get to– a few blocks away at St. Patrick’s Old Cathedral. Now this is a big church, and dark– so I brought some extra lighting to use on the processional shots, and I think that helped a lot, though the tricky part is always getting one’s focus sharp on people (especially walking towards you) in a dark situation.  Success!  After some family portraits in the church an adorable red pedicab drove the couple off to their reception we walked around the block with my equipment to our final destination: Socarrat Paella Bar!  To say that I wished I was not vegetarian would be an understatement.  The look and smells of the food there were extremely tempting– there were 3 Paella’s: Carne (pork, duck, chicken, chorizo, mushrooms), Pescado & Mariscos (bass, shrimp, cuttlefish, mussels, cockles, squid, scallops), Arroz Negro (shrimp, calamari, scallops, fish & squid ink).  Of course I resisted, but I’m just saying, everyone had lots of good food to eat– it was a delicious luncheon-style reception for a delightful couple!  Congratulations, Karen & Josh– I wish all the best for you and your family!

Other Credits:

Dress & Sash: J.Crew Bridal

Pedicab from Ceremony to Reception:  www.mrrickshaw.com

Flowers: Nature’s Petal

Hair Stylist: Paul of Face Time Beauty Concierge

Makeup Artist: Holly of Face Time Beauty Concierge

Ring Bearer Bowl Set: Say Your Piece

Invitations: Blackberry Graphics

Cake: Lemon Cake from Del Frisco’s

Cake Topper:  Ready Go

Wedding Fingerprint Tree: Inviting Moments

Favors: whoopie pies

Labels for Favors: Shop: Stickerchic


1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

ABSOLUTELY LOVE LOVE LOVE!!! Sarah you are simply amazing!!!

Comment by Karen




Leave a comment